Skip to content

W.I.P. of my “Princess and the Pea”…

image

As midnight approaches, I struggle to keep my eyes focused (once again, that whole pen and ink/detail/OCD thing); yet I feel elated. This illustration nearly marks the end of my twelve painting series and the year-long visual journey of my youth.

To some, fairy tales are merely children’s books…a silly story meant to bring awareness to the concepts of ‘good v. evil’, or set a stage for morals, human nature and learning life lessons. I however, cherish these stories of far off lands, places and “Once Upon a Time” and see them in a whole new light as an adult/wife/mother. I don’t think they are so far-fetched, or “childish” at all.

The characters and concepts that enchanted me as a child, bring an altered, yet refreshing paradigm to an otherwise bizarre world. I honestly think we, as adults, should go back and re-read our favorite fables/fairy tales and children’s books…you might be enlightened!

Posted by purpleeggplants on October 10, 2012
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. 10/10/2012

    Gorgeous πŸ™‚ Reading this, as corny as it sounds, I feel like I’ve found a kindred spirit! There’s something truly, delightfully magical about fairytales, and I continue to treasure them more and more the older I get. Lovely. Following πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 10/12/2012

      Thank you so much! I am so glad there are ‘others’ out there like myself…Happy Friday!
      πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. 10/24/2012

    beautifull!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

